must - just - be - the - colors

2003-11-17 - 3:22 p.m.

dear diary,

you know that song that goes "woah oh oaaaaaha you got the best of my loooove"?

it's stuck in my head and making me crazier than usual.

i watched a documentary about laughter on the discovery science channel [do you get cable, diary? cable is fantastic] and i learned things that i wanted to share with you.

1. laughing forces bacteria out of your mouth and people that laugh in excessive amounts are less likely to have sore throats.

2. apparently bill cosby is funny to everyone.

3. a sense of humor is more biological than environmental.

4. people laugh to externally connect to society and feel wanted.

5. people that laugh by themselves when no one else is around are usually reacting to a situation where people are laughing on television, thusly; people do not have to be in a social setting to externally connect for a feeling of belonging and understanding.

6. laughter and jokes in general stimulate both sides of your brain simultaneously.

when was the last time you had a really good laugh? you know those kinds of laughs that make you clutch your sides and gasp for air and make high pitched squealing noises?

i briefly thought that maybe part of my self-improvement program [you know diary, the one i never told you about?] should have five minutes every day of me making myself laugh.

i'm almost a little embarrassed to admit that i tried it and then realized how canned and empty it felt and how liberally insane i must have looked, standing in my pajamas with a cup of tea guffawing like a circus side show.

and then that made me laugh for real.

the point of this entry, is that i crack myself up. and isn't that what really counts? my happiness?

[i'm allowed to have moments of ego so shut your clap trap, diary]

waxing - waning